csv,conf,v6

Conference Schedule

TUESDAY - MAY 4 2021 - DAY 1

Welcome to Day 1
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconfv6-welcome
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf
6.45am PST · 9.45am EST · 1.45pm UTC · 2.45pm BST · 4.45pm EEST Welcome/intro
csv,conf,v6 organizers
Session 0
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconf6-0-session-0
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf
7am PST · 10am EST · 2pm UTC · 3pm BST · 5pm EEST csv-detective: solving some of the mysteries of open data
Anthony Auffret, Geoffrey Aldebert and Pavel Soriano-Morales
7.20am PST · 10.20am EST · 2.20pm UTC · 3.20pm BST · 5.20pm EEST Revealing Room for Improvement in Accessibility within a Social Media Data Visualization Learning Community
Silvia Canelón, Elizabeth Hare
7.40am PST · 10.40am EST · 2.40pm UTC · 3.40pm BST · 5.40pm EEST Data cleaning principles
Karl Broman
Session 1
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconf6-0-session-1
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf
8am PST · 11am EST · 3pm UTC · 4pm BST · 6pm EEST Set your code free; turn it into a command-line tool
Jeroen Janssens
8.20am PST · 11.20am EST · 3.20pm UTC · 4.20pm BST · 6.20pm EEST Using wearables to detect infections: A co-created & community-led pandemic response
Bastian Greshake Tzovaras
8.40am PST · 11.40am EST · 3.40pm UTC · 4.40pm BST · 6.40pm EEST WordPress as Data, 5 Years In
K Adam White
Session 2
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconf6-0-session-2
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf
9am PST · 12noon EST · 4pm UTC · 5pm BST · 7pm EEST CSV-LD: Spreadsheet-based Linked Data
Donny Winston
9.20am PST · 12.20noon EST · 4.20pm UTC · 5.20pm BST · 7.20pm EEST The Lab Notebook: Bringing Science Back to Data Science
Abhishek Gupta
9.40am PST · 12.40noon EST · 4.40pm UTC · 5.40pm BST · 7.40pm EEST The Ontario Neurodegenerative Disease Research Initiative's Neuroinformatics & Biostatistics teams pipelines, partnerships, and products.
Derek Beaton
Keynote
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconf6-0-keynote-covid
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf
10am PST · 1pm EST · 5pm UTC · 6pm BST · 8pm EEST From a spreadsheet to critical data infrastructure: building The COVID Tracking Project
Julia Kodysh, Michal Mart, Kevin Miller, Kara Schechtman
Birds of a Feather Sessions
Session details will be shared in Slack
All Birds of a Feather sessions happening at the same time
11am PST · 2pm EST · 6pm UTC · 7pm BST · 9pm EEST
Join session in room bof-vicuna
Frictionless Data workshop led by the Reproducible Research fellows
Katerina Drakoulaki, Daniel Alcalá López, Jacqueline Maasch, Sam Wilairat, Lilly Winfree
11am PST · 2pm EST · 6pm UTC · 7pm BST · 9pm EEST
Join session in room bof-suri
Versioning, Sharing, and Managing Medium Data
Nick Santos
11am PST · 2pm EST · 6pm UTC · 7pm BST · 9pm EEST
Join session in room bof-alpaca
How can we use data on Open Work for Tenure and Promotion?
Stephen Jacobs
11am PST · 2pm EST · 6pm UTC · 7pm BST · 9pm EEST
Join session in room bof-guanaco
OpenCIDER: Open works, Computational Inclusion, Digital Equity and Regulatory Handbook
Sara El-Gebali
11am PST · 2pm EST · 6pm UTC · 7pm BST · 9pm EEST
Join session in room bof-huacaya
Discovering and Communicating Empathy in Data
Wesley Bernegger
11am PST · 2pm EST · 6pm UTC · 7pm BST · 9pm EEST
Join session in room bof-camelops
Historic Data Harms: Lessons from Curating a Civic Data Collection
Alexandra Chassanoff, Tim Stallman, Michelle Tackaberry, JT Tabron
Llama Brunch / Lunch
Session details will be shared in Slack
11.30am PST · 2.30pm EST · 6.30pm UTC · 7.30pm BST · 9.30pm EEST
Session 3
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconf6-0-session-3
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf
Session 3 and 4 happening at the same time
12noon PST · 3pm EST · 7pm UTC · 8pm BST · 10pm EEST An API for Tracking Press Freedom
Harris Lapiroff
12.20pm PST · 3.20pm EST · 7.20pm UTC · 8.20pm BST · 10.20pm EEST Making Smithsonian Open Access Accessible with Python and Dask
Mike Trizna
12.40pm PST · 3.40pm EST · 7.40pm UTC · 8.40pm BST · 10.40pm EEST Making Police Call Data Readable using Pandas and Eland
Jay Miller
Session 4
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconf6-0-session-4
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf2
Session 3 and 4 happening at the same time
12noon PST · 3pm EST · 7pm UTC · 8pm BST · 10pm EEST Rdataretriever: A platform for downloading, cleaning, and installing publicly available datasets
Henry Senyondo
12.20pm PST · 3.20pm EST · 7.20pm UTC · 8.20pm BST · 10.20pm EEST Using GitHub Actions to Accelerate your Data Efforts
Grant Vousden-Dishington
12.40pm PST · 3.40pm EST · 7.40pm UTC · 8.40pm BST · 10.40pm EEST Building a team of R packages
Emily Riederer
Keynote
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconf6-0-keynote-simon
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf
1pm PST · 4pm EST · 8pm UTC · 9pm BST · 11pm EEST Datasette and Dogsheep: Liberating your Personal Data
Simon Willison

WEDNESDAY - MAY 5 2021 - DAY 2

Session 5
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconf6-0-session-5
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf
7am PST · 10am EST · 2pm UTC · 3pm BST · 5pm EEST Better sharing, brighter future
Catherine Stihler
7.20am PST · 10.20am EST · 2.20pm UTC · 3.20pm BST · 5.20pm EEST Data visualization and crowdsourced research: experiments in collective storytelling
Anne Lee Steele
7.40am PST · 10.40am EST · 2.40pm UTC · 3.40pm BST · 5.40pm EEST Human-Learn: Let's Draw Machine Learning Models and Train Humans Instead
Vincent Warmerdam
Session 6
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconf6-0-session-6
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf
8am PST · 11am EST · 3pm UTC · 4pm BST · 6pm EEST Getting Credit for Invisible Work
Ryan Harter
8.20am PST · 11.20am EST · 3.20pm UTC · 4.20pm BST · 6.20pm EEST (Machine) Learning from Open Data platforms
Giulia Santarsieri
8.40am PST · 11.40am EST · 3.40pm UTC · 4.40pm BST · 6.40pm EEST Should open content be used to train artificial intelligence?
Brigitte Vezina
Session 7
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconf6-0-session-7
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf
9am PST · 12noon EST · 4pm UTC · 5pm BST · 7pm EEST From opaque to open: untangling apparel supply chains with open data
Katie Shaw
9.20am PST · 12.20noon EST · 4.20pm UTC · 5.20pm BST · 7.20pm EEST From tweet to sheet: crowdsourcing a global survey of Open GLAM
Dr Andrea Wallace and Douglas McCarthy
9.40am PST · 12.40noon EST · 4.40pm UTC · 5.40pm BST · 7.40pm EEST Frictionless Data for Wheat
Simon Tyrrell
Keynote
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvcomfv6-keynote-kadija
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf
10am PST · 1pm EST · 5pm UTC · 6pm BST · 8pm EEST Race Matters in Health Data
Dr. Kadija Ferryman
Birds of a Feather Sessions
Session details will be shared in Slack
All Birds of a Feather sessions happening at the same time
11am PST · 2pm EST · 6pm UTC · 7pm BST · 9pm EEST Tracking Impact and Measuring Success in Data Education Events
Emily Lescak
11am PST · 2pm EST · 6pm UTC · 7pm BST · 9pm EEST Exploring the possible of biomedical data visualization
Meag Doherty
11am PST · 2pm EST · 6pm UTC · 7pm BST · 9pm EEST Soft Data Science Practitioners
Ryan Harter
11am PST · 2pm EST · 6pm UTC · 7pm BST · 9pm EEST Data collaboratives in practice
Agnes Cameron, SJ Klein
Llama Brunch / Lunch
Join Session: TBA
11.30am PST · 2.30pm EST · 6.30pm UTC · 7.30pm BST · 9.30pm EEST
Session 8
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconf6-0-session-8
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf
Session 8 and 9 happening at the same time
12noon PST · 3pm EST · 7pm UTC · 8pm BST · 10pm EEST Scaling computations and maintaining reproducible projects with signac, an open-source framework
Alyssa Travitz
12.20pm PST · 3.20pm EST · 7.20pm UTC · 8.20pm BST · 10.20pm EEST Save your sanity with Synapse
Kelsey Montgomery
12.40pm PST · 3.40pm EST · 7.40pm UTC · 8.40pm BST · 10.40pm EEST The Water Point Data Exchange - using Open Data for Universal Water Access
Katy Sill, Adam Kariv
Session 9
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconf6-0-session-9
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf2
Session 8 and 9 happening at the same time
12noon PST · 3pm EST · 7pm UTC · 8pm BST · 10pm EEST Static datasets aren't enough: where deployed systems differ from research
Bernease Herman
12.20pm PST · 3.20pm EST · 7.20pm UTC · 8.20pm BST · 10.20pm EEST Identifying the who, what, and (sometimes) where of research data sharing at an academic institution
John Borghi
12.40pm PST · 3.40pm EST · 7.40pm UTC · 8.40pm BST · 10.40pm EEST Will You Be My Graph Data-bae? A Graph Data Love Story
William Lyon
Session 10
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconf6-0-session-10
Captions: www.streamtext.net/player?event=CSVConf
1pm PST · 4pm EST · 8pm UTC · 9pm BST · 11pm EEST Distributing Power with Open Data
Zane Selvans
1.20pm PST · 4.20pm EST · 8.20pm UTC · 9.20pm BST · 11.20pm EEST Environmental Enforcement Watch: Environmental Data Justice through Participatory Data Science
Kelsey Breseman
1.40pm PST · 4.40pm EST · 8.40pm UTC · 9.40pm BST · 11.40pm EEST Algorithms as Data: A Case Study for Turning Algorithmic User Experiences into Research Data Objects
Jason A. Clark
Closing Session
Join Session: crowdcast.io/e/csvconfv6-close
2pm PST · 5pm EST · 9pm UTC · 10pm BST · 12am EEST OUTRO / END OF CONFERENCE
csv,conf,v6 organizers